Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should

One of the things I prided myself on when I was leading a “new”, “digital”, “interactive” media group was I liked to say, “Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.” Obviously an odd thing to say for the dude who was supposed to be leading the charge into the brave new media world. I have this problem with things needing to be strategically relevant and stuff, not to mention relevant and useful for the people you’re trying to influence or act and whatnot. My bad. Anyway, had a couple of brushes w/ that recently.

Got me to thinking, hey, this is great fodder for a post when I get a chance to get to it. I started recalling bits and pieces of some article I’d read way back when that was related to this.

It was mine as it turns out. Ironically, Eyeblaster was running on the page when I went there, expandables on roll over that sat there for a good 5 seconds after rolling over. Can…should…

Leave a comment

Filed under advertising effectiveness

Leave a Reply

